Skip to content

Breaking News: Comelec reinstates 238,000 overseas voters

Babaylan Denmark’s Founding Chair Filomenita Mongaya Hoegsholm, part of the GFDC, (Global Filipinos in DIaspora Council) delegation in dialogue with Comelec Chair Sixto Brillantes and Commissioner Grace Padaca over the disenfranchised  quarter million overseas voters last week Friday, 1 March. When sitting en banc last Tuesday March 5th over the question, the Comelec reversed its former stance. Now, the many Filipinos abroad who were formerly disqualified to vote in the 2013 elections because they failed to vote in the past two elections. may now exercise their suffrage. Global FIlipinos hope to amass a million registered voters for the 2016 presidential elections.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) voted en banc on Tuesday, March 5, to reinstate over 238,000 overseas Filipino voters who were earlier delisted by the Comelec in a resolution adopted on December 14, 2012.

web-gfdc3This reversal came after Comelec Chairman Sixto Brilliantes and Commissioner Grace Padaca listened to the arguments presented by Rodel Rodis and Ted Laguatan on behalf of the Global Filipino Diaspora Council (GFDC) at a special Comelec hearing last Friday, March 1. Joining Rodis and Laguatan at the hearing were GFDC Board Members Gene Alcantara of the UK, Nitnit Hoegsholm of Denmark and GFDC members Eric Lachica, Josie Laguatan and Bambi Lorica from the from the US.


“This is a major victory for overseas Filipino voters and for the Global Filipino Diaspora Council (GFDC) which represented them before the Comelec,” said Atty. Ted Laguatan.

GFDC is a global organization of overseas Filipinos that was initially formed during the 1st Global Summit of Filipinos in the Diaspora held in September of 2011 sponsored by the Commission on Filipinos Overseas (CFO). Its constitution and by-laws were ratified at the 2nd Global Summit of Filipinos in the Diaspora held Feb. 25-27, 2013 in Makati.

The chairperson of GFDC is Loida Nicolas Lewis, the President is Rodel Rodis, the three Vice Presidents are Gene Alcantara (UK/Europe); Lolita Farmer (Australia); Daisy Mandap (HK/China); Secretary, Dr. Celia Lamkin (Saipan, Commonwealth of Northern Marianas Island)s; Spokesperson/Legal Counsel, Ted Laguatan. The 27 Board Members represent different countries around the globe.

Article written by Rodel Rodis.

Did you like this? Share it:

Posted in News and updates, OFW, Philipine Migration, Philippine News, Philippine Updates.